Brief History

Dunmanway, the home of the Dohenys G.A.A. Club, is situated 38 miles west of Cork city, where the land becomes rugged and mountains dominate the skyline. It is here that the club was founded away back in 1886 when the G.A.A was in its infancy. The first chairman of the club was a local national school teacher, John Mc Carthy, while the first secretary was Richard Hayes. The club attended the first meeting of the Cork County Board and became the first affiliated club in West Cork. The official name adopted by the club was the Michael Doheny Football Club after the Tipperary Young Irelander, Michael Doheny, who spent a short time in Dunmanway when on 'the run' in 1847. Above is a picture of Michael Doheny.

In 1897 the club established a very solid foundation when it won the Cork senior football championship by defeating Wolf Tones of Kanturk in the final. This team, captained by Danny Rick O' Donovan of the Shamrock Bar, won its way through Munster but was defeated by Kickhams of Dublin in the All-Ireland final at Jones’ Road, a game played in February 1899. Although defeated this team established a tradition, which has stood well to the club over the years and guaranteed its survival during difficult times in the years following.

In its 125 years history the club has played a significant role in the affairs of the G. A.A. both in West Cork and the County. Although no further senior title has been won the club has won county intermediate football titles in 1972 and 1995 and county junior football titles in 1935,1966 and 1993. Its under-age teams have won county titles in U16 football in 1999, Under 18 hurling in 2003, and U14 hurling in 2001  U13 and U15 football 2011. Many West Cork titles at all levels, in both football and hurling, have also been won. At present the club's top football team is competing at senior level and reached the semi-final of the 2005 county championship where they were defeated by Muskerry.They reached the county final in 2006 and were defeated by Nemo Rangers. The junior B hurlers were county and Munster champions in 2006.

Over the years the club has provided a number of players to the Cork senior football team. Most notable of these were Liam Grainger and John Dullea in the 1930's, Jim and Eamonn Young in the 1940's, Denis Bernard in the 1950's, Johnny Carroll and John Crowley in the 1960's, Seamus O' Sullivan and Colman O Rourke in the 1970's, and Mark Farr and Micheal O' Donovan in more recent times. In 2000 John Collins and Paul Deane were on the Cork minor football team, which won the All-Ireland.

The club's under-age teams play under the name of Sam Maguires. The past 20 years have been particularly successful with many West Cork titles being won in both football and hurling. Three county titles have also been won.The club's base is in the Sam Maguire Park, which was acquired from the Sam Maguire Park Memorial Committee in the mid 1950's when it was no more than a farmer's field. Today it comprises of two playing pitches, four dressing rooms, a car park, a pavilion, a ball alley and public toilets. Such development over the space of 30 years could not have been possible without the generous financial support of the people of Dunmanway parish and surrounding areas.

Indeed the club has come a long way in the past 120 years. What it is today is a tribute to the many people who were willing to take up the mantle of responsibility as officers, committee, team mentors and players. The founding fathers of 1886 would have been proud of the way then" ideals have been carried on.